Disgusting food and a little bit more

I’m sure that people around the world think some of the food we eat in the states is disgusting and I know that we tend to think a lot of their food is disgusting too. Thankfully we have a very diverse consumer culture here and don’t have to be left out of the loop on the worlds most disgusting foods. I used to frequent small grocery stores in my area searching for the most disgusting food available to make my friends vomit.

I came across two foods while doing this that were truly disgusting (in my opinion anyway) the first one I gave them to try was the 100 Year Egg. Apparently these aren’t too bad, since no one threw up right away although I was certain they would. The 100 Year Egg goes against everything I was told not to eat. It is an unrefridgerated egg, it is a disgusting brown color, it smells awful, looks worse and has lye on the ingredient label. Since the 100 Year Egg didn’t get the results I was hoping for the quest was on to find a food that would truly make the subject vomit.

I admit, I didn’t discover the next gem of a food, but it qualifies as fruit in the sense that it is not from an animal, and grows on a plant. It is called the Durian and I can’t begin to explain it, but this quote from Wikipedia does a fine job: “… its odor is best described as pig-shit, turpentine and onions, garnished with a gym sock. It can be smelled from yards away. Despite its great local popularity, the raw fruit is forbidden from some establishments such as hotels, subways and airports, including public transportation in Southeast Asia.” There you have it. My subject was unable to swallow the fruit before throwing it up. The smell is very strong and very bad. Some jackass decided that it would be really funny to call this thing “The King of All Fruit”.

I have no experience with the following food.

Balut is probably the most disgusting food I can imagine. The pictures are enough to make me nauseous. The Balut is a fertilized duck egg and is left to gestate for 17-22 days then they are boiled just like a hard boiled egg and eaten with a pinch of salt. The eggs are peeled first but the embryo, curiously enough, is not deboned so I imagine there is a crunchiness to them from those bones.

Now just as a side story about making my “subject”vomit. After the Mentos and diet coke thing got big I played around with it a little bit and watched some videos of it a little bit. I decided to get this guy to try to consume them together, but to no avail. The only thing left to do was give him twice the recommended dosage of Ipecac syrup.

Don’t watch this video unless you are prepared to watch a guy that looks like Hurley from Lost throwing up into a garbage can a few times and cuss a lot. He also tries to pee when he is shot by airsoft guns. Remember NSFW.

Leave a Reply

