Time for Another Freeware Update.

It’s been quite some time since my last update and I have found quite a few great freeware programs.

I’m going to start with something that is near and dear to my heart, a plug-in for Firefox called “eBay Buddy“. “eBay Buddy” allows you the user, extra right click options, in fact it offers almost complete control from your right click menu. Let’s say you are looking for an Intel E6750 cpu. Once you have the plug-in you can highlight the item then right click it, pick quick search and it will open a new tab with the search results on eBay for an Intel E6750. “eBay Buddy” is a fantastic program that hardcore eBayers will develop a dependence on.

Wootalyzer is basically a live RSS feed of a bunch of “Deal a Day” websites, like Woot. It gives you the option of leaving it open all the time and alerting you when the deals on the sites change. This is a fantastic program even if you only check it once or twice a day. I even got a graphics tablet using this program for only $19.95 and it’s been pretty comparable to a wacom.

I needed a quick downloading and installing, no nonsense, no frills image burner. I had just finished building my new desktop everything was working fine hardware wise, it posted on the first boot, it posted after overclocking the cpu and setting my memory timings and voltage to the manufacturers specs. ALAS! No OS to boot into. I could have swore I had that copy of vista ultimate x64 somewhere around here…. Well you can see where this is going. Unfortunately my laptop dvd burner is a flaky piece of crap and/or all the discs I own are faulty, I already dismantled my old laptop, my wifes laptop seems to have some issues burning (why I think all my discs are faulty), as does my mother’s laptop and my dog’s. I finally determine that my wife’s desktop sitting in storage is my best bet, well it doesn’t have any burning software installed and I need something NOW. I came across a program called “Imgburn” and it solved all my problems instantly! It is free, it burns images like a champ and only took about 2 seconds to download. It’s also only a little over a mb in size.

Paranoid about your temperatures? Want to keep them in check? HWmonitor from CPUID will justify or negate your paranoia. It can show you all the information you need to make sure your hardware is running tip top. Voltages, temperatures and fan speeds are all displayed in an easily navigable window. HWmonitor is regarded as one of the best as far as accuracy goes and is available in 32 and 64 bit versions.

Rivatuner for when overclocking your cpu and memory are not enough.

Well that’s it for this round.

See you next time.

Leave a Reply

