Oh Geez guys. I am 30 now. That’s a huge milestone that seems like it should seperate the fickleness of youth from the quiet screaming desperation of adulthood. I should own a house, have a child maybe even be on the second one by now. I should be working that 9-5 or 8-5 with an hour lunch, a week or two of vacation each year, 401k, retirement plans, good credit or something similar to that.

That’s just not how it works out sometimes I guess. Sometimes you have a wife or even a second wife and that’s all you really have to show for 3 decades.

I’m not particularly depressed about all of this, though I feel like I should be. It’s sort of embarrassing to be unemployed, 30 years old and still living at home with your mom, especially when you are in fact married and your wife has to live here too, but that’s the extent of it all. Embarrassment. Sure the economy is bad, I am unemployed through no fault of my own, and after all my money was really just play money for me and Kelly so me being unemployed doesn’t really impact us too badly, but would be even less painful if the unemployment people would get my money to me.

Back in the biblical days 30 was considered to be old and wise. Now look, we live to be 80-90 fairly routinely and 75 is fairly common even.

Oh well, I can’t even remember what point I was trying to make about age anymore.

Peter Stampfel, He was one of the co-founders of The Holy Modal Rounders, which is possibly my favorite band ever.

He also has some of their merchandise as well as his solo stuff for sale on his Myspace page.

Leave a Reply

